470 Seniors European Championship was held at Arkas Cesme Sailing Youth and Sports Club Facilities

The Anton Dahlberg – Lovisa Karlsson duo from Sweden won the 470 European Championship hosted by the Turkish Sailing Federation at Arkas Cesme Sailing Youth and Sports Club.

More than 120 experienced sailors from 21 countries competed in the tournament, creating colorful scenes in the windy seas of Cesme. The medal race, started by Turkish Sailing Federation President Ozlem Akdurak, was a fierce competition between Swedish and Spanish teams, with the Swedish team coming on top. In the 470 Class Mixed category, Anton Dahlberg – Lovisa Karlsson from Team Sweden won the Gold Medal, Jordi Xammar Hernandez – Nora Brugman Cabot from Team Spain won the Silver Medal and Giacomo Ferrari – Bianca Caruso from Team Italy won the Bronze Medal. The other teams in the 470 Class Open Mixed category in the tournament were as follows:

1st place Anton Dahlberg – Lovisa Karlsson from Team Sweden, 2nd place Jordi Xammar Hernandez – Nora Brugman Cabot from Team Spain, 3rd place Giacomo Ferrari – Bianca Caruso from Team Italy, 4th place Hippolyte Machetti – Aloise Retornaz from Team France, 5th place Silvia Mas Depares – Nicolas Rodriguez from Team Spain, 6th place Nitai Hasson – Noa Lasry from Team Israel, 7th place Malte Winkel – Anastasiya Winkel from Team Germany, 8th place Luise Wanser – Philipp Autenrieth from Team Germany, 9th place Martin Wrigley – Eilidh McIntyre from Team Great Britain, and 10th place Tina Mrak – Jakob Bozic from Team Slovenia.

Team Sweden’s Anton Dahlberg – Lovisa Karlsson won the 470 Kevin Burnham Cup.  The Deniz Cinar – Simay Aslan duo from our National Team finished the tournament in the 22nd place, the Deniz Saltik – Mete Saltik brothers in 47th place, and the Efe Tulcali – Defne Danismend duo, in 52nd place.

Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Mr. Selim Dursun, Director General of Maritime Affairs Unal Baylan, Director General of Transport – Coastal Structures and Shipyards Salih Tan, Director General of Transport – Personnel N. Leyla Akinci, Deputy Director General of Maritime Affairs Mustafa Cankaya, Head of Coastal Structures and Shipyards Department Akif Patir, Izmir Port President Unal Hakan Atalan, Cesme District Governor Mehmet Marasli, Cesme Mayor Ekrem Oran, Arkas Holding Vice President Bernard Arkas, Arkas Holding CIO and Head of Sailing Branch in Arkas Sports Club Mert Oruz, Cesme Port President Eray Aykanat, Coast Guard Cesme Commander First Lieutenant Orkun Aktar, Izmir Youth and Sports Branch Director Enver Yilmaz, Cesme District Sports Director Nuri Buyukates, Turkish Sailing Federation Executive and Technical Board Members Melih Dilikoglu and Tolga Yagli, Turkish Sailing Federation Board Members Murat Sener, Umur Inanc and Mehmet Muftuoglu and Izmir Sailing Provincial Representative Habibe Sener were present at the award ceremony, where President Akdurak made the opening speech. Akdurak expressed their appreciation with hosting the 470 European Championship, extending their gratitude for hosting the event, to the Ministry of Youth and Sports, the Spor Toto Organization, our main sponsors Cesme Municipality, Arkas Holding, our sponsors Medicana, Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi, Sandalyeci, Can Group, Cesme Touristic Hoteliers Association and the management and staff of Arkas Cesme Sailing Youth and Sports Club, for their support in 470 European Championship and every one of our organizations.

After extending thanks to the referees who took part in the organization, President Akdurak proceeded to present the awards to the top 10 sailors, congratulating the athletes for their efforts throughout the tournament.

After unforgettable moments of camaraderie and competition for nine days, the 2022 470 European Championship ended with the closing remarks and thanks from Andreas Kosmatopoulos, President of the 470 Class Association.